Nurses recognised in Queen's Birthday Honours

Wednesday, 10 June, 2020

Nurses recognised in Queen's Birthday Honours

In the Year of the Nurse and the Midwife, the Australian College of Nursing (ACN) has welcomed the recognition of the profession’s contribution to the community in this year’s Queen’s Birthday Honours.

“Nurses are vital to the delivery of universal health care,” ACN CEO Adjunct Professor Kylie Ward FACN said.

“While nurses are humble about the difference they make, it is nice to know those we care for appreciate us and to have members of our profession celebrated on the national stage.

“This year, more than ever, Australians have acknowledged our profession due to the role nurses have played in the nation’s COVID-19 response. While during this time nurses have provided exceptional care just as they always have, this crisis has reinforced the community’s perception of nurses’ professionalism, skills and commitment.

“Congratulations to each of the nurses individually honoured today. These are our industry leaders and outstanding examples of the contribution nurses make each and every day in every healthcare setting and community.”

2020’s Queen’s Birthday Honours recipients include:

Member (AM) in the General Division

  • Sarah Louise Brown (Alice Springs, NT) for significant service to community health, remote-area nursing and the Indigenous community.
  • Professor Rhonda Pearl Marriott (Gosnells, WA) for significant service to tertiary education, Indigenous health and nursing.
  • Judith Louise Meppem PSM DLF FACN (Northmead, NSW) for significant service to nursing administration and community health.
  • Elizabeth Ruth Mohle (Grange, Qld) for significant service to industrial relations, the nursing profession and the superannuation sector.
  • Distinguished Professor Patricia Yates FACN (Upper Mt Gravatt, Qld) for significant service to tertiary education, to cancer and palliative-care nursing, and to medical research.
  • Professor Jeanine Young (Qld) for significant service to tertiary education, medical research and nursing.

Medal (OAM) in the General Division

  • Maria Rosaleen Boland (Qld) for service to nursing.
  • Professor Julia Louise Crilly (Qld) for service to emergency-care nursing.
  • Karen Lee Kemp (Broken Hill, NSW) for service to nursing and the community.
  • Leanne Neal MACN (Riverview, NSW) for service to youth and nursing.
  • Valerie Catherine Smith-Orr (Qld) for service to the international community through nursing.
  • Elizabeth Anne Zachulski (NSW) for service to aged care and nursing.

Image credit: ©

Related News

GPs need better MBS rebate options for COVID-recovery phase

Dr Ayman Shenouda says the COVID-19 recovery period may be a challenging time for GPs as they...

Limited-edition bandages launch to boost blood donations

Australian Red Cross Lifeblood has enlisted Aussie artists to design a vibrant range of...

Skin cancer nurse creates stylish sun safety brand

Registered Nurse Jillian Intini's skin cancer patients inspired her to create Sunbella. The...

  • All content Copyright © 2020 Westwick-Farrow Pty Ltd